TIPS - H. Maria - examples

Hi, I am a relative newbie, having posted a couple of things here, and you have been very helpful. I have learned a lot in these few weeks, that may help others who are new.
I wanted to “give back” a bit and offer suggestions. This info might be somewhere else, but I couldn’t find a couple of these topics. My suggestion to help new folks is to add a couple more items to helpful images somehow - maybe have a “if you’re new to this - come here for examples”. :grinning::thinking: Don’t know if it’s possible, but I offer my suggestions…

I find your examples of damage very helpful! I searched and couldn’t find info on the satellite image angles though. I’ve learned that sometimes the angle is weird so it might show the front of a house distorted and it looks damaged but it isn’t, the image is just showing some windows, roof angles that aren’t shown on a completely overhead image. Some examples would be great to see for a newish person.

Also - people should know to REALLY check the before photos. If they spend hours looking at images, they may get ‘lazy’ and think there is some debris and check “damaged”, but if they check the before picture, the debris is just stuff already in the yard or wherever.

Another suggestion is to show the roof examples (I learned this from a recent post I read). Since that post, I’ve been paying more attention to roofs, and have found some damaged buildings I wouldn’t have picked out before. (Great to have read that post.)

One more is to “look for the river or landslide”. I found that I completely overlooked a landslide across a road that had destroyed property! (I did tag the damage and now look for that.). AND I found that a bridge that looked pretty good, but then compared to the “before”, I could see the bridge was flooded! It looked good until I checked the before. So now I have been following rivers close to roads and checking the bridges.